Nominations Needed!

2017 04 04_Nominations Needed

Nominate a Project!

Saratoga Springs Preservation Foundation is requesting
nominations for the 2017 Preservation Recognition Awards

To nominate a project, please contact
Nicole Babie, Membership & Programs Coordinator
(518) 587- 5030
nbabie@saratogapreservation.org

Please submit nominations by
Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Know a local project that reflects a commitment to
preserving, promoting, and reusing historic buildings and landscapes?

Projects must be located in the City of Saratoga Springs,
but do NOT have to be located in a historic district.
Projects will consider the exterior of private property
and interior & exteriors of public spaces.

The building or landscape must be 50 years or older, and the award may be given to individuals, organizations, businesses or municipal representatives.

THIS INCLUDES:
Projects Big or Small
From removal of vinyl siding, or restoring original wood windows,
to entire building rehabilitation or adaptive-reuse.
New Construction Projects
Such as, compatible new additions and in-fill construction.

Criteria
Nominations are evaluated by the SSPF Awards Committee:

  • All projects must have been completed within the past year
  • Design sensitivity to historic character and environment of the property
  • Project execution represents appropriate techniques
    and preservation practice
  • Degree of difficulty faced and appropriateness of solutions applied.

Preservation Recognition Awards Ceremony
will take place in conjuction with the
Foundation’s Annual Meeting.

Tuesday, May 30th at 5PM
H. Dutcher Community Room
Saratoga Springs Public Library
49 Henry Street, Saratoga Springs, NY

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Filing Cabinets and Furniture Available

EVERYTHING HAS BEEN CLAIMED!
THANK YOU FOR YOUR INTEREST!

The Foundation needs more space for their property files and has ordered new filing cabinets for their office. They are also ordering a new conference table and chairs. The following gently used items will be available on a first come, first served basis and must be picked up from their office at 112 Spring Street.

50” round wood table CLAIMED
4  side chairs with upholstered backs and seats, 22” w. X 26” d. X 33” h. CLAIMED

2 desk chairs CLAIMED

2 metal and plastic stackable chairs CLAIMED

2  two-drawer legal size file cabinets (beige/tan) 18” w. X 27” d. X 28” h. CLAIMED

1  two-drawer letter size file cabinet (beige/tan) 15” w. X 28” d. X 28” h. CLAIMED

2  two-drawer letter-size file cabinets (black) 15” w. X 25” d. X 28” h. (mfr. HON) CLAIMED

2  two-drawer legal-size file cabinets (beige/tan) 18” w. X 26 ½” d. X 29” h. (mfr. HON) CLAIMED

1  four-drawer legal-size file cabinets (beige/tan) 18” w. X 28” d. X 52” h. CLAIMED

2  four-drawer letter-size file cabinets (black) 15” w. X 28 ½” d. X 52” w. (mfr. Steelcase) CLAIMED

1  four-drawer letter size file cabinet (black) 15” w. X 26 ½” d. X 52” h. (mfr. HON) CLAIMED

Call Nicole Babie, Membership & Programs Coordinator, at (518) 587-5030 or email nbabie@saratogapreservation.org to schedule pick-up.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Unfortunate Loss of 26 Caroline Street

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

26 Caroline Street

 

The Saratoga Springs Preservation Foundation is disappointed that the City of Saratoga Springs did not disclose at the City Council meeting that the front façade of 26 Caroline Street could be preserved.  Yesterday the Foundation received a copy of the City’s final structural engineer report from Ryan Biggs |Clark Davis Engineering & Surveying.  The report noted the following:

Observations:

“The front masonry façade does not appear to have been damaged or displaced by the fire; however, there are some pre-existing conditions of minor displacements and bulges in the masonry. However, further collapse of the building framing could compromise this wall.”  Please note that the pre-existing conditions appear in a 1982 photograph.

Conclusions:

“The front masonry façade appears to be stable with no signs of major structural distress; however, with potential additional collapse of the floor and roof framing, this could cause damage and/or movements of the façade with possible collapse of the wall.  With regard to saving the front façade, in my opinion this is structurally feasible (emphasis added).  However, design of a shoring and lateral stabilization system would need to be completed and implemented immediately.”

“The concern with attempting to retain the front façade is time the building would be left in an unstable condition during the design and construction of the stabilization, and the potential high cost to implement the stabilization. In addition, access to the building for demolition or major construction activities can only be made from the front (north side) and the safe demolition of the remaining portions for the building would be more difficult and costly if the façade is to remain.”

“Therefore, costs of the stabilization and shoring of the façade along with increased demolition costs appear to be disproportionally high to the benefit to save the front wall that has current problems.”

“It appears the complete demolition of the building may need to occur to form a safe condition if a stabilization system cannot be installed immediately.”  Note: no cost for preserving the façade was provided by Ryan-Biggs.

“If the City decides to proceed with demolition of the building, it is recommended that each adjacent property owner have their buildings reviewed by their own engineer in advance of demolition to determine if there are any other concerns with the structural stability of their buildings if 26 Caroline Street is demolished.”

“Demolition will most likely need to proceed slowly to access the existing conditions where 26 Caroline Street abuts the adjacent properties to make sure no unstable conditions are formed in the adjacent properties.”  In the interest of full-disclosure, please click here to view the final report provided by Ryan Biggs | Clark Davis Engineering & Surveying and click here to view the letter from the owner’s structural engineer addressing the preservation of the façade.

The observations and conclusions made by Mike Miller of Ryan Biggs | Clark Davis Engineering & Surveying  regarding the preservation of the façade and potential damage to the adjacent structures echo the structural engineer report that the Foundation hired Don Friedman of Old Structures Engineering to prepare. Click here to view the Old Structures Engineering report.

The Foundation is further disappointed that the City of Saratoga Springs chose not to seek a cost benefit analysis regarding the potential to preserve the façade prior to moving forward with approving full demolition and that the Design Review Commission was not given any opportunity to provide an advisory opinion or that several of its members were not informed of its imminent demolition.

The Foundation did its best to fulfill our mission and advocate for the preservation of this structure or, at least, its façade with available resources.

We are saddened by the loss of 26 Caroline Street and will be actively involved in the review of the redevelopment of the site.

Again, thank you to our members for their continued support of our mission and to those who have expressed support and gratitude for our efforts!

 

Help support our mission to promote the preservation and enhancement of the architectural, cultural, and landscaped heritage of Saratoga Springs!

 

Posted in Advocacy | Leave a comment

26 Caroline Street Demolition

26 Caroline Street

26 Caroline Street

The Foundation is pleased that the City of Saratoga Springs took action to declare 26 Caroline Street an emergency to hire an independent structural engineer to evaluate the building to assess its future, especially in light of the differences in the previous structural assessments.  Like the City, the Foundation does not want to jeopardize the public’s safety.  The decision to demolish any historic building in our city that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places should be given full consideration since the preservation of our architectural and cultural heritage contributes to the overall success of our community.  That is why the Foundation hired Don Friedman of Old Structures Engineering to provide an assessment last week despite being denied access by the owner and why the Foundation is willing to contribute up to $2,000 towards the City hiring an independent assessment.

The Foundation was not only concerned with the future of 26 Caroline Street, but also concerned with the immediately adjacent historic structures should partial or complete demolition of 26 Caroline Street be necessary.  We do not want to see any additional damage to those buildings as a result of the removal.

The Foundation is very disappointed to share that at last night’s City Council meeting it was announced that the preliminary report by Mike Miller of Ryan-Biggs indicates that the building posed a public safety risk and needs to be demolished immediately.  The City also said that they plan to move forward with demolition under section 118 (9) (7) of the code.

The Foundation does not know why steps cannot be taken to preserve the façade since we have yet to receive a copy of the owner’s structural report dated November 30 that specifically addresses that topic or a copy of the Ryan-Biggs preliminary report.

Marilyn Rivers, City of Saratoga Springs Director of Risk and Safety, stated at the meeting that as a result of the City’s independent inspection all of the building owners were now in communication and that they each had been encouraged to hire their own structural engineers to protect their buildings as demolition takes place.  While 26 Caroline Street will not be preserved, the inspection did result in increased communication among the owners and increased awareness about the potential impacts demolition may have on the historic adjacent structures.

We believe that the Foundation fulfilled our mission and did all we could to stay involved and advocate for the preservation of this structure or, at least, its façade.  Our Executive Committee met almost daily to develop strategy and make decisions as to our course of action and was kept abreast of developments by the Executive Director.  The full board was kept informed by regular communications from the Executive Director.

The Foundation looks to the future of this site and working with the property owner and the Design Review Commission to ensure that replacement infill is appropriate in scale and design.  The Foundation thanks all those who expressed support of our efforts and to our membership.  Without your continued interest and support we would not have been able to accomplish as much as we did, even if the result is not what we hoped.

Posted in Advocacy | Leave a comment

Caroline Street Fire Update

IMG_4005_edit26-30 Caroline Street

The Foundation continues to work toward preserving the historic 1870’s commercial building located at 26 Caroline Street.  The Foundation reached out to the owner multiple times to provide
assistance, including offering to pay for a structural engineer to evaluate preserving the building or, at the very least, its façade.  Unfortunately, the owner denied access to our structural engineer and to a prospective buyer who had expressed interest in preserving the façade.

Despite not being granted access, the Foundation moved forward with hiring Donald Friedman of Old Structures Engineering PC, a nationally recognized structural engineer of historic buildings, to evaluate the building from the exterior.  His structural report addresses three options: preserving the building, preserving only the façade, and demolition.  He concluded that the same initial steps would need to be taken to preserve the building, preserve the façade, or to safely demolish the structure so that the adjacent buildings are not damaged.  To view Don Friedman’s report, click here.

This morning Samantha Bosshart, Executive Director of the Foundation, attended the City Council pre-agenda meeting. The future of 26 Caroline Street was discussed. The Foundation offered to provide the City of Saratoga Springs up to $2,000 to pay for an independent structural engineer to provide a report in addition to the report that the Foundation has provided and the reports provided by the owner’s engineer, which conflict.

At that meeting, the City agreed to declare the fire damaged 26 Caroline Street an emergency and to hire Ryan-Biggs to do an independent assessment of the building.  The Ryan-Biggs report will help to inform the City as to next steps to take regarding the future of this building.  The Foundation remains hopeful that the Design Review Commission which is charged “to protect and enhance the landmarks and historic districts which it represents” will be engaged in the process.

The Foundation will continue to provide updates as they become available.  Thank you for your support of preserving the unique architecture and cultural heritage of Saratoga Springs.

Posted in Advocacy | Leave a comment

A STROLL THROUGH HISTORY: 30TH ANNUAL VICTORIAN STREET WALK

PUBLISHED FOR EXPLORE SARATOGA ON DECEMBER 1, 2016.

Victorian street walk cover

Bundle up and take a step back in time during the 30th Annual Victorian Streetwalk on Thursday, December 1st from 6:00 to 9:00PM. This is a favorite events among locals. Broadway is closed for the evening and thousands come out to kick off the Christmas season, with carolers, live performances, food and a visit from Santa.

As you are walking around town tonight, enjoying the entertainment and decorations, take a minute to appreciate the stunning architecture and rich history of these buildings. Some of them date back to the 1800s. Here are five we just can’t get enough of.

297 BROADWAY – SARATOGA SPRINGS HERITAGE AREA VISITOR CENTER

Saratoga Springs Heritage Area Visitors Center

Today the three grand arches of this landmark welcomes visitors from near and far much like it did when it was constructed. The Hudson Valley Railroad built this impressive Beaux-Art style trolley station in 1915 to serve as the gateway for those who wanted to taste the natural spring waters at the newly established Saratoga Springs Reservation, today known as the Spa State Park.

The trolley passed by the rear of the Lincoln Baths to allow passengers to disembark to enjoy the baths and then continued on to Ballston Spa and Schenectady. With the increased popularity of the automobile, trolley service ceased. In 1941, the building was purchased by New York State and rededicated as the Drink Hall, a place to buy the state-owned bottled mineral waters. Drink Hall closed in 1965 and was deeded to the City. After serving many uses, the building once again welcomed visitors when it was designated the Visitor Center in 1987.

As you walk up to this great building, be sure to check out the two exterior bas-relief murals – right, Sir William Johnson visiting the High Rock Spring and left, the surrender of British General Burgoyne at the Battle of Saratoga in 1977.

25 WASHINGTON STREET – UNIVERSAL PRESERVATION HALL

Universal Preservation Hall
Many of you have seen this steeple from afar, as it is one of the tallest in Saratoga Springs standing at 129’ tall. On the night of the Victorian Streetwalk, this beautiful High Victorian Gothic building will serve as a community gathering space much like it did historically.

In 1871, the Methodist Church constructed this church for its local congregation as well as to host Annual Methodist Convention. Over 1,000 people traveled  from near and far to attend the convention to hear various famous people speak – William Jennings Bryan, Frederick Douglas, and Theodore Roosevelt, just to name a few.

In 1976, the Methodist Church constructed a new church and the Universal Baptist Church purchased the building the following year. With a dwindling congregation, the building fell into disrepair. The roof started to collapse and the City condemned the building.

In the late 1990s, the Saratoga Springs Preservation Foundation took initial steps to stabilize the building to prevent its demolition. Out of this effort, the non-profit Universal Preservation Hall was formed to adapt this majestic church to serve as a community performing arts center, a special events space, and the sanctuary of the Universal Baptist Church.

Before you leave this space be sure to check out the amazing auditorium with 44’ ceiling and beautiful abstract, non-denominational stained glassed windows.

472 BROADWAY – FALLON WELLNESS

Fallon Wellness

Did you know that this space has been a pharmacy in the Ainsworth Building since 1871, when the building was constructed? Menges & Curtis Apothecary, established in 1860, is one of the oldest pharmacies in the country. Today we know it as Fallon Wellness Pharmacy, but we are still reminded of its origins from the nearly unchanged storefront to the Menges & Curtis sign above the awning.

Architect Gilbert B. Croft designed this handsome Italianate commercial block building with shops on the first floor and offices and apartments on the floors above for community leader Seymour Ainsworth.

Don’t forget to look up otherwise you might miss the date of construction in the pediment above as well as the beautiful ornate tall narrow windows with their decorative hoods.

473 BROADWAY – THE ADIRONDACK TRUST COMPANY

Adirondack Trust Company

It is hard to not feel as sense of strength and stability when you walk up the white marble stairs of this impressive structure, which was exactly the intent of its architect Alfred Hopkins. Hopkins designed this impressive structure for the Adirondack Trust Company in 1916, replacing the previous building on the site that they had outgrown.

The Adirondack theme is carried throughout the building inside and out. The crowning ornament of the primary façade is a large shield with a stag’s head, signifying the name Adirondack, flanked on each side by horns of plenty and the American eagle. The bronze front doors that grace the building depict an Adirondack mountain scene with stags, considered a noble animal of the Adirondacks that symbolize strength, in the foreground. Inside, the chandeliers also feature stag heads, clusters of acorns of the Adirondacks that symbolize the storing of wealth, and the zodiac signs.

Perhaps learn a lesson or two about the virtues of honesty, industry and thrift while inside by reading the sayings highlighted in gold Roman lettering.

475 BROADWAY – UNITED STATES POST OFFICE

Downtown Saratoga Springs Post Office
There is much more to this building than being just a convenient place to send a letter. It has impressive decorative bronze doors that open into a lovely space that is lit by natural light from the skylight.

James Knox Taylor designed this 1910 building in the popular Beaux-Art style. In 1977, the federal government attempted to close the post office. Then Mayor Raymond Watkins personally sued to stop the closer and was successful. A second attempt was made in 1993 and was again thwarted by citizens of Saratoga Springs who devised a plan to divide the space to allow for a commercial tenant to provide a source of revenue to fund the maintenance of this historic building.

Don’t miss the wonderful murals of the Saratoga Racing Season by Guy Pene du Bois that grace the interior. Trained in Paris, Du Bois focused on scenes of the fashionable life so it was only appropriate that the painted scenes of Saratoga Race Course. The murals were created during the Depression under the Treasury Relief Art Project, a program that awarded commissions to fine artist to create works of art to enhance federal buildings.

Samantha Bossart is the executive director of the Saratoga Springs Preservation Foundation which promotes and preserves the architectural, cultural and landscaped heritage of Saratoga Springs, NY.

 

explore-saratoga-logo

 

 

 

 

Explore Saratoga is the best way to find Things to Do, Places to Eat and Places to Stay in Saratoga Springs, New York. Find information about events, nightlife, shopping, restaurants, hotels, spas, promotions, etc in Saratoga Springs.

Posted in Explore Saratoga | Leave a comment

Update: Caroline Street Fire

26-30 Caroline Street

26-30 Caroline Street

As many of you know there was a terrible fire on Caroline Street in the early morning hours of Thanksgiving Day. The Foundation thanks the City of Saratoga Springs Fire Department and area fire departments for their efforts in containing the fire, as well as the Saratoga Springs Police Department for keeping everyone in the area safe. In keeping with our mission to preserve the historic architecture of Saratoga Springs, the Foundation has been working since the fire to see if the building at 26-30 Caroline Street or, at the very least, its façade can be preserved.

The day of the fire the Foundation immediately reached out to the City of Saratoga Springs to express our interest in preserving the building. In addition, we contacted the owner to offer the services of a structural engineer. We are hopeful that he will take advantage of this offer. Should it be determined that the building or its façade cannot be saved, the City will need to take the necessary steps for its demolition.

The Italianate two-story commercial building was constructed circa 1870 as a tannery for Charles H. Sturges and has similar distinctive brick work as the Adelphi Hotel. The large service bays were converted into storefronts after 1908. The building also housed the Palmetto Fruit Company for many years, Coronet Press, the Clubhouse Bar, and, most recently, the Living Room Bar/Restaurant. The building is a “contributing building” to the Broadway Historic District listed on the National Register of Historic Places and located in an Architectural Review District.

The Foundation will continue to stay in contact with the City regarding the process surrounding the potential demolition of this building and will keep you informed as to any developments. We appreciate your interest and dedication to the preservation of the architectural history of Saratoga Springs.

Posted in Advocacy | 2 Comments

A Turkey Trot Through History

A TURKEY TROT THROUGH HISTORY

Published for Explore Saratoga on November 20, 2016.

2016-11-17_turkey_trot_cover_facebook
Turkey trot cover (Image Credit: Facebook)

 

Planning to burn off some calories during the 15th Annual Christopher Dailey Turkey Trot in Saratoga Springs this year? Don’t forget to check out the scenery while racing your way up North Broadway and back.

 

474 BROADWAY: CITY HALL
2016-11-17_474_broadway_city_hall_explore_saratoga

 

 

 

 

 

 
Image Credit: Explore Saratoga

The City of Saratoga Springs was not incorporated until 1915, so what we know as City Hall was originally built as Town Hall in 1871.

This handsome Italianate building was designed by architects Cummings and Burt who were paid a mere $300 for their design. The structure cost $109,999.46 to construct and originally was topped by a bell and clock towers. These were removed in 1936 due to safety reasons. Be sure to wave hello to “Nobility” and “Magnanimity,” the two lion statues next to the front steps.

 

510 BROADWAY: ALGONQUIN BUILDING
2015-10-08_algonquin_510-broadway_bosshart-2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image Credit: SSPF

We’ve all been watching the multi-million dollar award-winning rehabilitation of the Algonquin this past year, but it was just as costly to build it. According to the Daily Saratogian, the cost to construct the luxury Romanesque influenced apartment building in 1892 was approximately $129,000, a significant amount for the day.

James H. Pardue, an owner of a china, crockery and glassware shop China Hall, hired prominent local architect S. Gifford Slocum to design the building. Known then as the Pardue Building, it was constructed in phases with the center section built first. Pardue resided in the southern portion of the building in an apartment that had ornate woodwork, wainscoting, built-ins and fireplaces – much of which still exists today.

 

563 NORTH BROADWAY: DR. ADELBERT HEWITT HOUSE
2016-11-17_563_north-broadway_explore_saratoga

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image Credit: Explore Saratoga

We recognize this beautiful Queen Anne as the office of Witt Construction, but it was originally built in 1884 for well-known physician and surgeon Dr. Adelbert Hewitt, for his home and office.

Later it was home and office of Dr. Arthur Leonard, who in 1952 was serving as the Commissioner of Public Safety and was charged with conspiracy and bribery as part of the Kefauver investigation of illegal gambling in Saratoga Springs. He was believed to be allowing gambling to go on rather than putting an end to it, but the charges were dismissed.

In 1964, the Salvation Army purchased the house and many alterations were made during this time, including the removal of the front porch and cladding it in aluminum siding.

In 1999, John Witt of Witt Construction and Jim Sasko of Teakwood Builders purchased the building and restored it to the original grandeur based on historic photographs.

605 NORTH BROADWAY – SENATOR EDGAR T. BRACKETT HOUSE
2016-11-17_605_north-broadway_explore_saratoga

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image Credit: Explore Saratoga

Many of us recognize the name Edgar T. Brackett as the principal founder of the Adirondack Trust Company, but he is also known for being a prominent local attorney, New York State Senator, and for crafting the legislation with Spencer Trask to save Saratoga’s spring waters and creating the Saratoga State Reservation, which is known today as the Spa State Park.

Brackett had this half-timbered with brick Queen Anne home built for him and his family – his two sons, Edgar and Charles. Edgar died at the age of 9 and Charles went to gain fame in film, working with Billy Wilder on 13 films. In addition to receiving an Honorary Academy Award for outstanding service, he won Academy Awards for his screen writing of The Lost Weekend, Sunset Boulevard, and Titanic.

655 NORTH BROADWAY – W. STONE SMITH COTTAGE
2016-11-17_655_north-broadway_explore_saratoga

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image Credit: Explore Saratoga

There is a long-standing tradition of homes on North Broadway being used only during the summer. W. Smith Stone, a principal of a well-known stove manufacturer in Troy, built this beautiful Shingle style house to serve as his summer residence.

The house later became the home of John K. Walbridge, the president and manager of The Saratogian. John collapsed at the desk in his office and was brought to the house where he died. Upon his death, the entire first page of the Saratogian was his obituary. Today, you can see the typeset for that edition in Greenridge Cemetery as it was incorporated into his gravestone.

In 1954, the house was turned into five apartments. It was returned to single-family residence in 2008.

658 NORTH BROADWAY – MARY S. WAYLAND HOUSE
2016-11-17_658_north-broadway_explore_saratoga

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image Credit: Explore Saratoga

Today we see this graceful white Colonial Revival with double-gallery porches that face the expansive south lawn, but this was not the first house constructed at this site.

In 1876, Mary S. Wayland demolished the original 1856 house and built a new house on the site. A year later she passed away and Eugene O’ Connor acquired the property. In 1888, he hired prominent local architect S. Gifford Slocum to do extensive renovations.

In 1918, the Queen Anne with wrap-around porch was purchased by the Van Duesens. That same year, architect Alfred Hopkins, who also designed the Adirondack Trust Company Bank on Broadway, was hired to transform it into what you see today.

688 NORTH BROADWAY – SOUTHGATE-BRESLIN- GREEN COTTAGE
2016-11-17_688_north-broadway_explore_saratoga

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image Credit: Explore Saratoga

Ever wonder why some houses in Saratoga Springs have a unique looking roof? The character-defining feature of the Second Empire style is the mansard roof, which was named after 17th century French architect, Francois Mansart, and was designed to gain usable attic space.

This beautiful house was built on speculation in 1877 and served as the summer residence for a number of wealthy residents. In 1915, the house became a year-round residence for Colonel Edward Green and his family. The Green family sold the house in 1931 and for periods of time throughout the 1930s and 1940s the house was vacant. In 1946, the house was turned into a boarding house, the Pines Tourist House.

In 1975, it was returned to a single-family residence.

719 NORTH BROADWAY – KING- FULLER-JEFFORDS COTTAGE
2016-11-17_719_north-broadway_explore_saratoga

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image Credit: Explore Saratoga

We all know that there is a high price tag for the homes on North Broadway, but this was even true back in 1875 when Dr. Benjamin W. King of Fort Edward built this Italianate style summer residence in 1875 at a reported cost of $30,000, the equivalent of $630,000 today.

In 1882, the King family sold the house to Joseph W. Fuller of Troy who also used it as a summer residence. Fuller was president of the Fuller and Warren stove manufacturing firm, which produced up to 60,000 stoves, ranges, and furnaces annually and had sales buildings in New York, Boston, Baltimore, San Francisco and other cities across the country.

In 1946, Walter and Kay Jeffords, a successful racing family with two Belmont Stakes champions, acquired the house and it served as a summer residence for over 50 years. Ironically, a heating system was never installed in this house since it always served as a summer residence.

740 NORTH BROADWAY – HENRY HATHORN HOUSE
2016-11-17_740_north-broadway_explore_saratoga

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image Credit: Explore Saratoga

Henry Hathorn, part owner of the United States Hotel, built this handsome Queen Anne in 1884 and was the home of three generations of the Hathorn family, until 1970. At some point the original front porch was removed. This year the current owners restored the beautifully ornate porch based on historic photographs.

Why else do you recognize Hathorn’s name? He sold his interest in the United States Hotel to become part owner of the Congress Hotel, which burned in 1866, the night before opening for the season. While excavating to construct the new hotel the Hathorn Spring was discovered.

791 NORTH BROADWAY – LUCY SKIDMORE SCRIBNER HOUSE
2016-11-17_791_north-broadway_explore_saratoga

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image Credit: Explore Saratoga

You probably know this home as the official residence of the president of Skidmore College, but that wasn’t always the case. The gambrel roof Queen Anne was purchased in 1897 by Lucy Skidmore Scribner, who was the widow of J. Blair Scribner of the Scribner Publishing Company. In 1903, she founded of the Young Women’s Industrial Club of Saratoga, which was chartered as a four year liberal arts college in 1922.

During her ownership the porte-cochere over the driveway and the upper sun porch, referred to as “the nest” in her diaries, were added. Upon her death in 1931, Skidmore College acquired the house. In 1937, the college exchanged the house for another house closer to the original Union Avenue campus, located at 46 Circular Street. The college reacquired the house in 1964 and in 1987 it became the official residence of the president.

For race details visit the Christopher Daily Foundation website.

Samantha Bossart is the Executive Director of the Saratoga Springs Preservation Foundation which promotes and preserves the architectural, cultural and landscaped heritage of Saratoga Springs, NY.

 

explore-saratoga-logo

 

 

 

 

Explore Saratoga is the best way to find Things to Do, Places to Eat and Places to Stay in Saratoga Springs, New York. Find information about events, nightlife, shopping, restaurants, hotels, spas, promotions, etc in Saratoga Springs.

Posted in Explore Saratoga | Leave a comment

Spirit of Life Showcased in Antiques Magazine

David B. Dearinger recently wrote an article for Antiques Magazine about Daniel Chester French, which highlighted his sculpture “Spirit of Life.” The article “Feminine Mystique: Woman as Allegory in the Sculpture of Daniel Chester French.” Click the image below to view the article.

Spirit of Life and Spencer Trask Memorial, Congress Park, Saratoga Springs, NY

Spirit of Life and Spencer Trask Memorial, Congress Park, Saratoga Springs, NY

 

Posted in Spencer Trask Memorial & Spirit of Life | Leave a comment

TRASK: Thank You Letter

Thank You Letter to the Editor

On Thursday, September 29, 2016, the Saratoga Springs Preservation Foundation (SSPF) hosted the 2016 TRASK Art Show & Sale at the Canfield Casino in Congress Park in Saratoga Springs. This event brought together fans of art and preservation to support the continued preservation of Saratoga Springs.

The SSPF Board of Directors and staff thank the artists, their families and friends, and all of the Honorary Committee members, Corporate Sponsors, donors, and volunteers who made this event possible. We count 2016 TRASK among our many successes and because of your help and support, we raised funds that will benefit restoration projects, such as the Spirit of Life, and ongoing efforts to preserve Saratoga Springs.

Thanks to all of the 60 artists that participated in this year’s TRASK event and generously donated portions of their individual art sales to the Foundation’s efforts. We appreciate the time and expertise of the evening’s judges Ian Berry and Kathy Greenwood. The Foundation also thanks our Honorary Chairs, Seth D. Finkell and Judy Soukup, and the members of this year’s Honorary Committee including Benefactors: Cynthia Corbett, James Gold, Linda Harvey-Opiteck, Elisa & Mark Haworth, William M. Kahn, CPA, Dee Sarno, Cindy Spence, and Meredith Woolford as well as our Philanthropists: Bart & Jeff Altamari, Michael Billok, Marcy Dreimiller, Seth & Sequoyah Finkell, Richard King, Jessica Niles, Michelle Paquette-Deuel, Elizabeth Reddick, and Supervisor Matthew E. Veitch.

In addition, we thank planning committee members Marissa Broadley, Bob Carlton, Cynthia Corbett, Rowena Daly, Michele DeRossi, Allie Dockum, Marcella Hammer, Liz Israel, Christiana Limniatis, Jessica Moore, Jessica Niles and Cindy Spence and our event curator, Sara Boivin. The Foundation is very appreciative of our event volunteers including Christopher Armer, Stephen Babie, Geoff Bornemann, Partick Cunningham, Kayley Green, Cherie Grey, Jeannine Jeter, Rumara Jewett, Kara Koenig, Obie Lawrence, Jillian Mayott, Alexandra Morgan, Dave Morgan, Victoria Niles, Bruce Sparano, and Debbie Studwell. SSPF is grateful for the time, dedication, and hard work of everyone who helped to make this event a success.

The Foundation thanks the Adelphi Hotel for their generous Best in Show sponsorship, which includes underwriting the 2016 Best in Show Award of a $500 cash prize that was awarded to local plein air painter, Matt Chinian. Additionally, we thank our Corporate Sponsors including Judge’s Choice: Michael & Stacie Arpey and Redbud Development, Inc., as well as Curator’s Choice: Saratoga Dermatology, and Honorable Mention: Carmody Ford, Subsidium Technologies, and The D.A. Collins Companies. The Foundation is extremely grateful to long-time supporter Teakwood Builders who donated their services to install historic doors provided by the Historic Albany Foundation for the art show. Other businesses and community members who contributed with in-kind donations include 15 Church, The Barrelhouse, Cynthia Corbett, Hoffman Car Wash, The Inn at Saratoga, James & Son Tobacconist, Lakeside Farms, Northshire Bookstore, Saratoga Paint & Sip Studio, Saratoga Social, Explore Saratoga, Saratoga Today, Prime at Saratoga National, Rain or Shine Tent Company, Sunnyside Gardens, and WMHT. Without the immense generosity of these businesses, 2016 TRASK would not have been possible.

Thank you again to everyone who lent a hand for one of SSPF’s largest fundraisers of the year. Your support and dedication have made this event a special one for all of us at the Saratoga Springs Preservation Foundation.

Founded in 1977, the Saratoga Springs Preservation Foundation is a not-for-profit organization that promotes preservation and enhancement of the architectural, cultural, and landscaped heritage of Saratoga Springs.

Chinian, #599 Juniper Swamp Rd.

Chinian, #599 Juniper Swamp Rd.

View More: http://totarophotography.pass.us/artshow

View More: http://totarophotography.pass.us/artshow

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment